Longest long run.

So, training.

It’s been… Not happening.

Running is truly a mental sport and I know in my mind running is not my main focus now. March and April have been pretty hectic. I had finals in March (all of my classes are 8 weeks long, so somewhat of an accelerated program but not really since I have summers off) and then started my 2nd 8 weeks of classes.

The 1st 8 weeks I had 3 classes (roles of a nurse, physical assessment, and pathophysiology) and meet for classes 3 days a week. Since the following 2nd 8 weeks I only had 2 classes (pharmacology and med-surgical) but we meet 4 days a week. But I don’t have morning classes so I would run during the day before my classes.

But then, I got a second job. And then spring break came. And then the first week back from break made me realize ahhh I have like no time before the semester ends!

And it definitely affected my running. And not the best time either!

Until today, I would run 2 times a week, doing a short run and completing/attempting the long run. Last weekend, I did the 12 mile run so I thought for sure I could complete the 13 mile run today, even though I didn’t run at all this week.

Nope. Everything that could possibly go wrong, went wrong.

I wasn’t smart. I did something new- I decided to run the prairie path since it was nice out and it would be great to try my new water bottle that I want to carry during my half marathon.

I knew it was nice out but had no idea it would go up to 80 and I wasn’t prepared for that at all. I should of fueled beforehand better. I should of carried my id and and credit card because I ran out of my Powerade and the water fountains weren’t in operation and I ran by so many places but didn’t have a way to pay for it. And the gravel stones getting into my shoes, and the amount of bugs flying around, I just wasn’t prepared for any of it. So different from running by my old middle school and the park next to it and definitely different from running on an indoor track!

But it was nice to run outside and I ended up running about half of it. I was pretty upset with myself but I knew a run is better than no run. I ended up completing a little bit more than 13 miles since on the prairie path I ran out to 6.5 miles away so I had no choice but to get back somehow. I contemplated many times to call someone to pick me up but it was nice out and I didn’t want to waste the day.

But ahh! 15 days until I ran DC! I gotta stick to the rest of the training up to the race!

2 thoughts on “Longest long run.

  1. Phu, I am SO proud of you! Honestly, I know lately you haven’t been able to run as much as you’ve wanted to do, but you’ve been doing an amazing job!!! For someone who barely ran at all, to running like 90 miles a month – that’s incredible to say the least! I can’t wait for you to cross the finish at your first half, I am sure you will get addicted to them after that and you will see that all your hard work was worth it! 🙂

    • AW thanks LB! I know I gotta keep focus on the positive and what I’ve done and not what I HAVEN’T done! I know I will be so happy once I cross that finish line on Sunday!

Leave a comment